Happy Birthday Mr. Tarantino!

Quentin Tarantino turns 53 today and what better way to celebrate his birthday then to countdown my favourite films of his?

Tarantino is renowned for his exceptional dialogue and use of amazingly OTT violence – being a big film lover, Tarantino has become one of my all time favourite directors in the business today, and the prospect of him taking an early pension is a sad one to take in so for this blog I’m gonna list out my favourite Tarantino (Directed) outings that I’ve seen!

9. Deathproof

death-proof-quad-poster.jpg

“Well Pam… Which way you going, left or right?”
Okay when Tarantino came out and said he wasn’t too proud of his 5th outing but I have to say it wasn’t as bad as people make it out to be – yes some scenes may drag a little but it’s not the worst film in the world.

8. Kill Bill Vol 2

kill-bill-vol-2.jpg

“You and I have unfinished business.”
The violent conclusion to the brides revenge spree ending in great fashion but I think I wasn’t as blown away compared to the first outing – still an epic edition to the story all the same!

7. Jackie Brown

jackie-brown.jpg

“What the f**k happened to you, man? Sh*t, your ass used to be beautiful.”
Another one of Tarantino’s outings that seems to get mixed reactions, which I don’t really get? The back and fort between Jackson and De Niro is one of the highlights throughout!

6. Kill Bill Vol 1

kill-bill-vol-1-5053aaae936f9.jpg

“That woman deserves her revenge and we deserve to die.”
This is on of the most epic revenge stories out there and Thurman is a force to be reckoned with! Plus the choreographed fight scenes are on a whole other level!

5. Django Unchained

bGLrmid.jpg
“I like the way you die boy.”
With the first of two western stories, Tarantino brought his epic own take on the popular genre – with all the great OTT Violence. Waltz and DiCaprio are absolutely terrific and deserve all the recognition they get!

4. The Hateful Eight

The-Hateful-Eight-Banner.jpg

“When you get to hell, John, tell them Daisy sent you…”
The most recent edition to the collection saw Tarantino take a crack at another western. Here he plays with a type of Cluedo storyline when Eight strangers must wait out a blizzard in a secluded tavern. In my opinion, this might be as good as Django – the whole mystery element added so much to my enjoyment!

3. Inglorious B******s

inglourious-basterds-poster

“Gorlami…”
This film is crazily epic! It might not be factually correct but t’hell with it! Pitt proves yet again that he is both a leading (and sometimes funny) man! This is certainly one for every movie lover to watch – especially for Waltz’ performance ’cause holy hell he is one of the best villains to grace the screen.

2. Reservoir Dogs

310238

“Hey Joe, you want me to shoot you?”
“Shit.. you shoot me in a dream, you better wake up and apologize.”

This might just be one of the coolest films ever made, and believe me when I say it – it was so hard to choose between this and my number 1 pick! Not only is this a very original take on a heist gone wrong but the fact that it is almost all shot in one location worked incredibly – plus the characters are ultra awesome! I’d urge everyone to check this out!

1. Pulp Fiction

pulpfiction.jpeg

“You okay?”
“Naw man. I’m pretty f**kin’ far from okay.”
Okay many of you could have guessed it, but I say goddamn this is (in my opinion) not only Tarantino’s best film but one of the best films ever made. The inter-connecting storyline’s along with the incredible allstar cast add to this intense violently fantastic roller-coaster ride right from the get go! For me the re-watchability is at 100% and I will never get sick of Vega’s awesome hair, Jules’ preaching and most of all Butches love for his father’s watch!

Tarantino may not be everyone’s cuppa but for me, he has proven that sometimes over stepping the mark can work out just fine in Hollywood! Nerd out!

Leave a Reply

